Chicken, steak, or beef?

August 20, 2009

Thursday, September 11, 2008

I was driving home from a friend’s house late one Saturday night and got a craving for Taco Bell.  I found a Taco Bell; pulled up to the drive through speaker and asked for a bean and cheese burrito, chicken soft taco and cheesy festive potatoes (this is my weakness order at Taco Bell.)  The cashier repeated my order, gave me a total cost and asked me to pull forward.

I arrived at the window to pay and collect my food.  The cashier who took my order was speaking on a headset to another drive through customer.  A tall, pale, waify, dirty blond haired girl appeared from behind the cashier and said “You wanted a chicken taco right?” I said, “Yes, and a bean and cheese burrito, and cheesy festive potatoes.”  The conversation continued as follows:

Girl: “Umm, okay but we’re out of chicken.  Do you want a steak taco instead?”

Me: “No, I don’t eat beef.”

Girl (rolling her eyes a bit): “You wanted a chicken soft taco though right?”

Me: “Yes, do you have chicken.  That’s what I asked for…”

Girl: “Okay, but we don’t have chicken.  Do you want steak instead?”

Me: “No, I don’t eat beef.”

Girl: “Ummm… okay but do you want steak?”

Me” “No, I don’t eat beef.”

Girl (frustrated): “Umm, okay but do you want steak?”

I was puzzled by her responses and then finally realized she didn’t know that steak is beef.

Me: “Steak’s beef…”

She looked at me puzzled, stared off for a bit frustrated and let out a sigh.

Girl:  “Uhh… Okay… Do you just want it without the meat then?”

I looked at her puzzled, because the only thing that usually comes on the taco is meat and hot sauce.  So, I guess she thought I wanted a tortilla with hot sauce for a dollar.

Me: “Just give me another bean and cheese burrito.”

She pouted again, sighed and said “Okay…”

She ran off to the back and got my food.  I actually felt kind of bad for the girl because she looked like she was in her early 20’s.  She didn’t know what steak was, and was a bit ditsy.  She might end up working at a fast food joint for the rest of her life.  I mean, there’s nothing wrong with that but geeze please get educated on what you’re selling.

Leave a Reply

